Man City Playmaker De Bruyne Beats Mo Salah To Premier League Player of the Year Award

by Opeyemi Alimi
0 comment

Belgian and Manchester City Midfielder, Kevin De Bruyne has piped Liverpool winger, Mohammed Salah to win the Premier League Player of the Year award for the second time in three years.

The Belgium international has enjoyed his most productive Premier League campaign, scoring 15 goals and providing seven assists.

De Bruyne, in 2020, won the prestigious award in 2020, while Mo Salah claimed it in 2018. It is the third successive season that a City player has received the prize after defender Ruben Dias claimed the award 12 months ago.

All the awards attaching to the Premier League this season have been dominated by the players of the two top sides, Manchester City and Liverpool, who are both on the verge of winning one the best leagues in the whole world.

The Egyptian, Mo Salah and Heung-Min Son, having missed out on the Premier League Player of the year awards, are still in contention for the Golden Boot, with the Liverpool forward one goal ahead of Tottenham’s South Korean.

Man City full-backs Joao Cancelo and Trent Alexander-Arnold also represented the title-tussling titans, with Jarrod Bowen, Bukayo Saka and James Ward-Prowse completing the star-studded list of nominees.

The winner was based on votes from the public on the Premier League website, combined with those of the 20 Premier League club captains and a panel of football experts.

De Bruyne’s four-goal haul to overwhelm Wolves earlier this month might have swung the balance in his favour. The expected-goals total for City’s seven shots in the first half at Molineux was just 0.52 – in other words, attempts from those positions would usually yield one goal every other game. De Bruyne scored three inside 24 minutes.

The Citizens, if they win their last league game of the season against Aston Villa will be winning their third consecutive Premier League Titles, becoming the second Club to do it after Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United side in 2006/07, 2007/08 and 2008/09.

For More News, Kindly Join Our WhatsApp Group, Follow us on Instagram and Like our Facebook Page. You Can Also Follow Us On Twitter

Latest Posts:

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More