LIVE UPDATE FROM THE APC PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES: Voting Completed, Sorting of Ballot And Counting of Votes Set To Begin

by Opeyemi Alimi
0 comment
APC-convention (1)

HotNewsInNaija has gathered that the voting has completed as sorting of ballot and counting of votes is set to begin.

Delegates who just completed the casting of their votes are currently moving back to their respective sits.

As it stands Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu is expected to be topping going by the number of aspirant that has stepped down for him, even though the votes is yet to be counted.

Meanwhile, HotNewsInNaija had earlier reported that the former Lagos State Governor Asiwaju Bola Tinubu was set this morning to win the presidential ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Governors Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti) and Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa) stepped down for Tinubu while addressing the delegates shortly before the commencement of voting.

Senators Ibikunle Amosun, Ajayi Boroffice, former Speaker Dimeji Bankole and the only female aspirant Mrs. Uju Kennedy Ohaneye also stepped down for the APC national leader.

Senator Godswill Akpabio, former Akwa Ibom State governor, led the floodgate of those aspirants who conceded to the former governor.

Tinubu was the frontline aspirant before he got those aspirants to back down on the convention ground.

The youngest aspirant, 40-year old Nicholas Felix, stepped down for Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

The endorsement of Tinubu by the seven aspirants was expected to increase his votes substantially.

Former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Mr. Babachir Lawal, told Channels Television that the endorsements would increase Tinubu’s projection of votes to 1,800.  Two thousand, two hundred and three (2,203) delegates were accredited out of expected number of 2,322.

Twenty-three aspirants were jostling for the ticket. All the aspirants but one took turns to tell the delegates what they would offer if given the chance to fly the party’s  flag.

Former Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, failed to address the delegates after the first set of four delegates did so.

He was also called upon to address the delegates before master of ceremony invited Osinbajo to do so.

Nwajiuba, who was sighted at the venue left shortly after the aspirants began to address.

Those who presented themselves before the delegates were Tinubu; Prof. Osinbajo; Senate President Ahmad Lawan; Ebonyi State Governor Dave Umahi; Pastor Tunde Bakare; former Imo State Governor Rochas Okorocha; Cross River State Governor Ben Ayade; businessman Tein Jack-Rich, Ikeobasi Mokelu.

Others were Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello; former Zamfara State Governor Ahmed Yerima; former Senate President Ken Nnamani; former Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Ogbonnaya Onu, Mrs Uju Kennedy-Ohaneye and Nicholas Felix, who dropped his ambition and pledged support for Prof. Osinbajo.

No fewer than 2,022 were accredited to vote at the election which began at about 1:30am.

Tinubu was the first to address the delegates, followed by Lawan.

The former Lagos State governor reeled out his accomplishments in politics and his plans for Nigeria.

Lawan spoke about his competence as a lawmaker of 23 years.

He told the delegates to vote for him because in the United States (U.S.) legislators rose to become president.

Thereafter, Akpabio mounted the rostrum and announced his withdrawal from the race. He threw his weight behind Tinubu, who he described as an influential founding member of the APC.

Nigerian Governors’ Forum Chairman/Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi; his Jigawa State counterpart Mohammed Badaru; former Governor of Ogun State Ibikunle Amosun; Senator Ajayi Borrofice; former House of Representatives Speaker Dimeji Bankole and   Mrs. Kennedy-Ohanenye — stepped down for Tinubu.

Bankole’s withdrawal was particularly dramatic having first left the podium without withdrawing from the race. He returned to make the announcement. Boroffice did his own in the same manner.

Akpabio asks delegates to vote for Tinubu

Akpabio urged delegates to vote for Tinubu as he is the only leader with a vision to transform the country.

He said: 

“As a student of history, the APC came to bed through a very strong alliance between the then ACN in the Southwest and the CPC in the North.

“Today, I want to thank the Progressive Governors of Northern Nigeria for their decision to ensure peace, stability, and unity of the country, that in 2023, the Presidency of this country should go to the Southern region of Nigeria. Their decision is laudable.

“For 2023, I want to join you to go with a President that has a vision. Today I urge all our delegates to look at all of us and bring out a man amongst us that does not only have sight but also has a vision.

“It was that vision that enabled me to turn a pedestrian State like Akwa Ibom State into a destination of choice for all Nigerians and the global community.

For More News, Kindly Join Our WhatsApp Group, Follow us on Instagram and Like our Facebook Page. You Can Also Follow Us On Twitter

Latest Posts:

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More